Where Are You, Thanksgiving?

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! Here’s an excerpt from an entry I wrote for “Think Customers: The 1to1 Blog” just yesterday:

To those companies that will not open their doors Thanksgiving night, I applaud you. To those who refuse to put up decorations until after Thanksgiving, I commend your decision. Perhaps I’m old-fashioned, and perhaps retailers across the nation will think I’ve lost my marbles, but the holiday season should be about coming together, not tearing each other apart. (People have died at Black Friday events, so don’t tell me competition is an exciting part of the challenge.)

To read the entire post, click here. Happy Holidays!

  1. What I have come to realize though, is that most people don’t quite agree with me. Sure, they like Thanksgiving, but they don’t quite appreciate it as much as me. Some people are so crazy about the next holiday that they put their Christmas tree up in the middle of November! It is my personal opinion that Christmas rides roughshod right over thanksgiving. Come on! Shopping for Christmas presents on Thanksgiving Day? It’s ridiculous! I realize that people get excited over Christmas. I love Christmas too. I just think it would be wise to stop and think for a few days. Our modern lives are so fast-paced. We are busy, busy, busy all of the time. Whether you are an overworked business owner, a stressed-out parent, or an employee shackled to the cubicle, you know how tough life can be sometimes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

